Description:
This check verifies that Deleted Users' OneDrive Retention settings are extended to 1 year.
Why:
For most organizations, the volume and complexity of their data is increasing daily — email, documents, instant messages, and more. Effectively managing or governing this information is important for compliance to regulations, risk of security breaches, user efficiency, and in the event of litigation.
Configured: This setting is in place.
Not Configured: This setting is not in place.
Scoring: Contributes up to 1 point to the Posture Recommendations score.
Category: General
Microsoft Licensing: Works with Basic licensing
Secure Score Impact: Not verified. No Microsoft Secure Score control could be confirmed for this setting from published sources. See the note in README.md before publishing this field.
Remediation in Augmentt: Configure directly in Augmentt (Configure tab)
Compliance Frameworks:
NIST CSF 2.0 — PR.DS-09
Microsoft documentation:
IMPORTANT:
Microsoft 365 retention settings from retention policies and retention labels always take precedence over the standard OneDrive deletion process, so content included for OneDrive retention could be deleted before 30 days or retained for longer than the OneDrive retention period.
Likewise, if a OneDrive is put on hold as part of an eDiscovery case, managers and secondary owners will be sent email about the pending OneDrive deletion, but the OneDrive won't be deleted until the hold is removed.
